Education in Alappuzha

There are 5 arts and science colleges in the urban area of which 2 are located in Alappuzha Municipality and one each in Chengannur, Kayamkulam and Mavelikkara Municipalities. There are 4 higher secondary schools located in Alappuzhaa, Cherthala, Chengannur and Kayamkulam Municipalities. Altogether there are 63 high schools 92 middle schools and 175 primary schools in the towns of the district.

There is a Medical College at Alappuzha and a Model Engineering College (Autonomous) at Chengannur. All the towns have secondary schools, middle schools and primary schools. Alappuzha municipality including outgrowths has the highest number of schools with 19 high schools and 28 middle schools.


St Joseph's College for Women, Alappuzha
S.D. College, Alappuzha
N.S.S. College, Cherthala
St Michel's College, Cherthala
S.N. College, Cherthala
St Alosius College, Edathua
Christian College, Chengannur
Sree Ayyappa College, Eramallikkara
T K M M College, Nangiarkulangara
Bishop Moore College, Mavelikkara
MSM College, Kayamkulam
College of Engineering, Pulincunnu
Engineering College, Chengannur
Medical College, Alappuzha
PEET Memorial Training College
KVM Collrgr of Engineering & Technology, Cherthala (unaided)
Raja Ravi Varma College of Fine Arts, Mavelikkara


Sacred Heart School
Saraswathy Vidyapeedam
Sarath Vidhyapeed
Sayon Hill Y.M.C.A.JR.School
Sree Chinmayee K.G.School
Sree Chithira Thirunal E.M. School
Sree Narayana Vilasam N.School
Sree Neelakanta Vidyapeedom
S.S. School